Amanda Fauteux

Amanda Fauteux

Sackville based artist, Amada Fauteux was nominated for the 2022 Marie Hélène Allain Fellowship Award by Emily Falvey, director of the Owens Art Gallery who characterized Fauteux’s latest work, Terrarium, as ground-breaking conceptual art. The jury was both intrigued and impressed by Amanda Fauteux’s collaborative approach and the international scope of her proposed new work[…]

Charlene Collette

Charline Collette

The Sheila Hugh Mackay Foundation is proud to announce Charline Collette the 2021 recipient of the Nel Oudemans award Charline Colette is an impressive emerging artist in the New Brunswick cultural landscape whose work in fiber embraces both traditional and contemporary image making processes. Trained in art and engineering, her approach to textile art is[…]

Mathieu Léger

2021 Mathieu Léger

Since 1991, the Sheila Hugh Mackay Foundation has presented the Strathbutler Award to honor New Brunswick artists who have achieved personal excellence in any discipline of visual arts, while having had a distinctive impact on the cultural life of our province. Based on the unanimous recommendation of a professional, independent jury, interdisciplinary artist, Mathieu Léger[…]

Kristen Bishop

Kristen Bishop

Kristen Bishop Chosen for 2020 Nel Oudemans Award Since 2002, the Sheila Hugh Mackay Foundation has offered an award for an emerging artist in the fields of fine craft and design.  It continues to be a mark of distinction for New Brunswick artisans.  The 2020 recipient of the Nel Oudemans Award is Kristen Bishop.  Based[…]

20 BG 2009 Natural Energy (Internal Wall Mural)

2019 Bruce Gray

Based on the recommendation of a professional jury, the Board of Directors of the Sheila Hugh Mackay Foundation announces that Bruce Gray has been selected by a professional jury as the 2019 recipient of the $25,000 Strathbutler Award for excellence in the visual arts. Mr. Gray becomes the 25th New Brunswick artist to receive the prestigious[…]