SHMF invites applications for the 2023 International Residency Bursary

The $10,000 Sheila Hugh Mackay International Creative Residency is an initiative aimed at the advancement of the careers of professional New Brunswick visual artists. Professional New Brunswick visual artists will be eligible for SHMF International Creative Residency funding once in a lifetime. Completed submissions for 2023 International Creative Residency (including all supporting material) must be[…]

Strathbutler 2023

The 2023 nomination period for the Strathbutler Award is closed.  SHMF is grateful to the nomination of visual artists from across the province.  These nominations are a testament to the rich artistic culture in New Brunswick. Announcements of the 2023 recipient will be made in September 2023.

Bonny Hill - Margaret Woodson Nae Mentorship Bursary Recipient

SHMF awards a Margaret Woodson Nae Mentorship to Sussex based artist and educator Bonny Hill

Bonny Hill, artist, educator, community builder and art consultant, has been chosen to receive the unique Margaret Woodson Nae Mentorship bursary. Throughout her career, Ms. Hill has poured her creativity into education and community development while maintaining an active art practice. Upon retirement from Sussex Regional High School, Ms. Hill has delved deeply into installation[…]

2023 Sheila Grant Program

Since 2012, Sheila Hugh Mackay Foundation has contributed 500,000 in annual facilitation grants to arts organizations and collectives serving New Brunswick visual artists.   Based on a 2022 strategic review, the Board of Directors remains dedicated to supporting impactful, timely initiatives that advance opportunities in exhibition, education and art appreciation.  In 2023, SHMF invites grant requests[…]