2019 Strathbutler Jury Members

Since 1991, Sheila Hugh Mackay Foundation has celebrated excellence in the visual arts of New Brunswick through its signature award, the Strathbutler. This $25,000 award is given to a New Brunswick artist who has achieved excellence in visual arts while having made a substantial contribution to his or her respective field over a significant period[…]

Prairie detail, Ralph Simpson

2019 Nel Oudemans Award Jury Statement

Ralph Simpson is an impressive emerging artist whose extensive body of work stood out in the 2019 award adjudication. Building on a first career as a research biologist and forestry expert, Simpson immersed himself in ancient traditions of basketry from around the world. From these global inspirations, his unique, individual artistic vision has evolved. His[…]