2019 Scholarships awarded

Sheila Hugh Mackay Foundation is proud to announce a $23,000 investment in New Brunswick artists through its 2019 scholarship and bursary programs. An active supporter of artistic education and growth, the foundation offers a yearly program of funding to assist and encourage excellence in the visual arts.

SHMF International Residency

Amanda Fauteux has been selected by an independent jury to receive the $10,000 SHMF International Residency. Ms. Fauteux is an interdisciplinary artist whose art practice is based in Sackville New Brunswick who has been invited to participate in a two month residency at De-Construkt Project Space in Brooklyn, New York. In this enriching creative environment, Fauteux will forward her research into textiles while networking with other juried peers. Her many layered art practice and her long association with Struts and Faucet Media Arts Centre make her an ideal participant in the community based residency.

Advanced Studies Scholarships

Advanced Studies Scholarships will be awarded to Julie Caissie and Elise Anne LaPlante, two Moncton based artists currently pursuing Master’s degrees. Based on her application images, introspective artist statements and enthusiastic recommendations from Herménégilde Chiasson and Jennifer MacKlem, a $2,500 Sheila Mackay Advanced Studies Scholarship is granted to Julie Caissie to support her work at the University of Ottawa. Elise Anne LaPlante will receive a $2,500 scholarship in recognition of her curatoral work before and during her studies at UQAM.

Fred Ross Scholarship

Edyn Sierra Albert of Minto, New Brunswick is the recipient of the 2019 Fred Ross Scholarship currently valued at $8000. This 4-year renewable scholarship is given to a promising high school graduate entering a formal program in the study of visual art. Ms Albert will enter the foundation program at New Brunswick College of Craft and Design in September 2019.

All scholarships, bursaries and residencies grants are adjudicated by a professional independent jury. The Board of Directors is grateful for the critical expertise of Amy Ash, Sarah Jones, and Paul Mathieson in the review of all 2019 applications.