Emilie Lavoie

As a ceramic artist, Emilie Lavoie exhibits both technical expertise and conceptual rigour. Her work in large scale installations and innovative glazing techniques serve to amplify her exploration of thematic issues such as genetic manipulation and environmental degradation. Her innovative spirit and organizational expertise characterized her recent multi-level work in fashion/performance art at the University[…]

2015 Ross Scholarship Recipient

The Sheila Hugh Mackay Foundation is proud to announce the 2015 recipient of the Fred Ross Scholarship. Ms Rylee Hayes, a student of Simonds High School, has been selected by an independent panel of art professionals. This scholarship is an enduring tribute to Mr. Ross whose artistic career made a profound impact on so many.[…]

2015 Advanced Studies Scholarship

Press Release Congratulations to Moncton native, Samantha Noseworthy, 2015 recipient of the $5000 Sheila Mackay Advanced Studies Scholarship. Ms. Noseworthy will enter the MFA program at Western in September. The SHMF is grateful for the expertise of the members of the 2015 scholarship jury, Sarah Jones, Martha Ailish Moore and Phillip Savage. Jury Statement Noseworthy’s[…]

2014 Fred Ross Jury Statement

Seok Joo Lee The range of talent exhibited by the candidates for the 2014 Fred Ross Scholarship was impressive and made decisions for this jury very challenging. In selecting Seok Joo Lee, we were struck by the artist’s raw talent, force of expression and originality. Mr. Lee’s artist statement reflects a mature level of introspection[…]

2014 Advanced Scholarship Jury Statement

Kristen Atkins In reviewing the applications to the 2014 Sheila Mackay Advanced Study Scholarship applications, the jury was struck by not only the breadth of Kristen Atkins’ experience in varied art gallery and artist-run spaces, but also the scope of her involvement in the cultural community as volunteer, fundraiser and board member.  In addition to[…]

2013 Fred Ross Jury Statement

2013 Fred Ross Scholarship Jury Statement Serim Ye’s application portfolio illustrates all the qualities one looks for in an aspiring artist. Overall her works on paper, canvas and in clay show an impressive facility with artistic fundamentals. However, it was the visual and narrative qualities of a series of water-colours depicting memories from Ms. Ye’s[…]

2012 Scholarship Jury Statement

It is the recommendation of this jury that Jared Peters of Saint John be awarded the 2012 Sheila Hugh Mackay Scholarship. As noted by his referees, Suzanne Hill and Michael Landry, Peters has had significant recognition as an accomplished painter being named a national finalist in the RBC Painting Competition. Both the technical quality of[…]

2011 Scholarship Jury Statement

The committee strongly believes that the MFA scholarship is significant in its potential to advance the range and quality of the visual arts in New Brunswick. The jury has selected Barbara Sarah Safran de Niverville of Riverview to receive the SHMF MFA Scholarship. We applaud Ms Niverville’s interest in exploring new themes and techniques in[…]